Home
Reading
Searching
Subscribe
Sponsors
Statistics
Posting
Contact
Spam
Lists
Links
About
Hosting
Filtering
Features Download
Marketing
Archives
FAQ
Blog
 
Gmane
From: <updates <at> fedoraproject.org>
Subject: [SECURITY] Fedora 17 Update: kernel-3.6.8-2.fc17
Newsgroups: gmane.linux.redhat.fedora.package.announce
Date: Saturday 1st December 2012 08:28:13 UTC (over 4 years ago)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Fedora Update Notification
FEDORA-2012-19337
2012-11-29 03:25:39
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Name        : kernel
Product     : Fedora 17
Version     : 3.6.8
Release     : 2.fc17
URL         : http://www.kernel.org/
Summary     : The Linux kernel
Description :
The kernel package contains the Linux kernel (vmlinuz), the core of any
Linux operating system.  The kernel handles the basic functions
of the operating system: memory allocation, process allocation, device
input and output, etc.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Update Information:

Update to Linux v3.6.8 with various fixes across the tree.
The linux 3.6.7 stable update contains a number of important bug fixes.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ChangeLog:

* Tue Nov 27 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Update patches for 8139cp issues from David Woodhouse (rhbz 851278)
* Mon Nov 26 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]> 3.6.8-1
- Linux 3.6.8
* Mon Nov 26 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Fix regression in 8139cp driver, debugged by William J. Eaton (rhbz
851278)
- Fix ACPI video after _DOD errors (rhbz 869383)
- Fix ata command timeout oops in mvsas (rhbz 869629)
- Enable CONFIG_UIO_PDRV on ppc64 (rhbz 878180)
- CVE-2012-4530: stack disclosure binfmt_script load_script (rhbz 868285
880147)
* Sun Nov 25 2012 Peter Robinson 
- Update ARM kernel config and patches to fix F-17 build
* Tue Nov 20 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- CVE-2012-4461: kvm: invalid opcode oops on SET_SREGS with OSXSAVE bit set
(rhbz 878518 862900)
- Add support for BCM20702A0 (rhbz 874791)
* Mon Nov 19 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Apply patches from Jeff Moyer to fix direct-io oops (rhbz 812129)
* Sat Nov 17 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]> - 3.6.7-1
- linux 3.6.7
* Fri Nov 16 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Fix oops causing typo in keyspan driver (rhbz 870562)
- Don't WARN_ON empty queues in iwlwifi (rhbz 873001)
* Thu Nov 15 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]>
- Fix panic in  panic in smp_irq_move_cleanup_interrupt (rhbz 869341)
* Mon Nov 12 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]>
- fix list_del corruption warning on USB audio with twinkle (rhbz 871078)
* Mon Nov  5 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]> 3.6.6-1
- Linux 3.6.6
* Wed Oct 31 2012 Dave Jones  3.6.5-1
- Linux 3.6.5
  Merged upstream:
  - iwlwifi-fix-6000-ch-switch.patch
  - mac80211_local_deauth_v3.6.patch
  - mac80211-connect-with-HT20-if-HT40-is-not-permitted.patch
* Tue Oct 30 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- CVE-2012-4565 net: divide by zero in tcp algorithm illinois (rhbz 871848
871923)
* Tue Oct 30 2012 Mauro Carvalho Chehab 
- Fix EDAC memory filling for csrow-based memory controllers
* Tue Oct 30 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Move power-x86-destdir.patch to apply on vanilla kernels (thanks knurd)
* Mon Oct 29 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]>
- Uprobes backports from upstream
* Mon Oct 29 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]> 3.6.4-1
- Linux 3.6.4
* Thu Oct 25 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]>
- CVE-2012-4508: ext4: AIO vs fallocate stale data exposure (rhbz 869904
869909)
* Wed Oct 24 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Remove patch added for rhbz 856863
- Add patch to fix corrupted text with i915 (rhbz 852210)
* Mon Oct 22 2012 Peter Robinson 
- VIFO fails on ARM at the moment so disable it for the time being
* Mon Oct 22 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Add patch to fix CIFS oops from Jeff Layton (rhbz 867344)
* Mon Oct 22 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]> - 3.6.3-1
- CVE-2012-0957: uts: stack memory leak in UNAME26 (rhbz 862877 864824)
- Fix rt2x00 usb reset resume (rhbz 856863)
- Linux v3.6.3
* Mon Oct 22 2012 Peter Robinson 
- Cleanup ARM patches
- Add highbank sata patch
- add patch to revert ARM misaligned access check to stop kernel OOPS
* Sun Oct 21 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Don't enable UDL per Dave Airlie
* Thu Oct 18 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Patch to have mac80211 connect with HT20 if HT40 is not allowed (rhbz
866013)
- Enable VFIO (rhbz 867152)
- Apply patch from Stanislaw Gruszka to fix mac80211 issue (rhbz 862168)
- Apply patch to fix iwlwifi crash (rhbz 770484)
* Wed Oct 17 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Enable TCM_VHOST module (rhbz 866984)
* Mon Oct 15 2012 Mauro Carvalho Chehab  - 3.6.2-4
- Fix i82975x_edac driver by rewriting most of the logic there
* Mon Oct 15 2012 Mauro Carvalho Chehab  - 3.6.2-3
- Fix i82975x_edac OOPS
* Sat Oct 13 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]> - 3.6.2-2
- Linux v3.6.2
- Fix whitespace corruption in linux-3.6-arm-build-fixup.patch
* Tue Oct  9 2012 Peter Robinson 
- Update ARM configurations
* Tue Oct  9 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]> - 3.6.1-1
- Linux v3.6.1
- Include patches from 3.6.2 stable queue
- Drop unhandled irq patch.  Proving to be not worthwhile
* Sun Oct  7 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]> - 3.5.6-1
- Linux v3.5.6
* Wed Oct  3 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Make sure kernel-tools-libs-devel provides kernel-tools-devel
* Tue Oct  2 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]> - 3.5.5-1
- Linux v3.5.5
* Fri Sep 28 2012 Dave Jones 
- Apply potential fix for bogus WARN_ON in tcp. (rhbz 857324)
* Fri Sep 28 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]> - 3.5.4-3
- Split out kernel-tools-libs (rhbz 859943)
* Wed Sep 26 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]> 3.5.4-2
- xen Restore the PCI config space after an FLR (rhbz 850350)
- drm/radeon make 64bit fences more robust (rhbz 846505 845639)
- Apply current 3.5.5 stable queue
* Fri Sep 21 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Add patch to fix radeon regression from Jerome Glisse (rhbz 785375)
* Tue Sep 18 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]>
- Enable POWER7+ crypto modules (rhbz 857971)
* Mon Sep 17 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]> 3.5.4-1
- Linux 3.5.4
* Tue Sep 11 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]> 
- Drop xen EC2 work around, it is no longer needed.
* Mon Aug 27 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]> 3.5.3-1
- Linux 3.5.3
* Tue Aug 21 2012 Dave Jones  3.5.2-3
- af_netlink: force credentials passing [CVE-2012-3520]
* Tue Aug 21 2012 Dave Jones  3.5.2-2
- Add patch from Dave Airlie to fix fb cursor vs grub2 gfxterm hang
* Mon Aug 20 2012 Dave Jones 
- Reenable W1 drivers. (rhbz 849430)
* Wed Aug 15 2012 Dave Jones  3.5.2-1
- Linux 3.5.2
* Thu Aug  9 2012 Dave Jones  3.5.1-1
- Linux 3.5.1
* Tue Aug  7 2012 Dave Jones  3.5.0-4
- Update to 3.5.1-rc1
* Tue Aug  7 2012 Dave Jones 
- Update the uprobes backport. (Anton Arapov)
* Mon Aug  6 2012 Dave Jones 
- Don't treat warnings as errors when building perf. (rhbz 845758)
* Fri Aug  3 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- CVE-2012-3412 sfc: potential rDOS through TCP MSS option (rhbz 844714
845558)
* Tue Jul 31 2012 Dave Jones 
- Change VM_BUG_ON's to be WARN_ONs instead.
* Tue Jul 31 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Move modules needed by Shorewall back to main kernel package (rhbz
844436)
* Thu Jul 26 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]> - 3.5.0-2
- Add patch series queued for 3.5.1
* Thu Jul 26 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]> - 3.5.0-1
- Rebase to Linux v3.5
* Thu Jul 26 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]> - 3.4.6-4
- kernel: recv{from,msg}() on an rds socket can leak kernel
  memory (rhbz 820039 843554)
- Apply patch to fix uvcvideo crash (rhbz 836742)
* Wed Jul 25 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Add patch to fix cpu pinning after suspend/resume (rhbz 714271)
* Fri Jul 20 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Update vga_default_device.patch to fix build failures (rhbz 830446)
* Thu Jul 19 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]> - 3.4.6-2
- Linux v3.4.6
* Wed Jul 18 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- check return value of power_supply_register from Lan Tianyu (rhbz 772730)
* Mon Jul 16 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]> - 3.4.5-2
- Linux v3.4.5
* Thu Jul 12 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Add patch to fix ACPICA null pointer exception regression (rhbz 834318)
* Wed Jul 11 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]>
- Fix FIPS for aesni hardware (rhbz 839239)
* Tue Jul 10 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Add patch to fix xen dom0 crash when using BLKDISCARD (rhbz 824641)
* Fri Jul  6 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]>
- ACPI, APEI, Avoid too much error reporting in runtime
* Fri Jul  6 2012 Peter Robinson 
- disable TI_CPSW
* Thu Jul  5 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Fix device misprobe for Gobi devices (rhbz 829880)
- Fix breakage in nouveau with nv_two_heads (rhbz 830359)
- Apply patch to fix tg3 watchdog hangs on BCM5906 devices (rhbz 825123)
- Move sch_htb module into main kernel package (rhbz 836185)
* Thu Jul  5 2012 Peter Robinson 
- Enable OMAP freq scaling driver
- Initial support for Beaglebone in OMAP kernel
* Wed Jul  4 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Patch from Stanislaw Gruszka to fix rt2x00 USB access point (rhbz 828824)
* Tue Jul  3 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Allow ACPI backlight to still work if _DOS isn't present (rhbz 834910)
* Fri Jun 29 2012 John W. Linville 
- ath9k: fix panic caused by returning a descriptor we have... (rhbz
832927)
* Thu Jun 28 2012 Dennis Gilmore 
- include the mach- headers on arm arches if they are available
* Thu Jun 28 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]>
- Team driver update
* Tue Jun 26 2012 Dave Jones  3.4.4-3
- Add mm-correctly-synchronize-rss-counters-at-exit-exec.patch (rhbz
832867)
* Tue Jun 26 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Add task_work_add backport from Anton Arapov
- Add patch to fix mount hangs (rhbz 835019)
* Tue Jun 26 2012 John W. Linville 
- ath9k_htc: configure bssid on ASSOC/IBSS change (rhbz 828731)
* Fri Jun 22 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]> 3.4.4-1
- Linux 3.4.4
* Fri Jun 22 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Add uprobe backports from Anton Arapov (rhbz 832083)
- Disable UDL DRM driver per Dave Airlie
* Wed Jun 20 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Fix incorrect logic in irqpoll patch
* Tue Jun 19 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Add proposed patch to fix READ_CAPACITY command on usb keys (rhbz 831807)
* Mon Jun 18 2012 Dave Jones 
- Output taint info when the RSS counter check trips up.
* Mon Jun 18 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]> 3.4.3-1
- Linux 3.4.3
* Mon Jun 18 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Add patch to fix CIFS password mount option parsing (rhbz 832741)
- Add patch to fix udl device binding (rhbz 832188)
* Wed Jun 13 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Add patches to fix NFS shutdown panic (rhbz 830862)
* Tue Jun 12 2012 Dennis Gilmore 
- build in RTC modules on arm boards as the module gets loaded after the
rtc is read
* Mon Jun 11 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Add virtual provides for kernel-module to kernel-modules-extra (rhbz
770444)
- Add patch to fix xen domU 32bit (rhbz 829016)
- Add two upstream commits to fix flaky iwlwifi (rhbz 825491)
* Sat Jun  9 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]> 3.4.2-1
- Linux v3.4.2
* Fri Jun  8 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Enable HV assisted KVM on ppc64
* Fri Jun  8 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Backport edid header fixup threashold patch from Adam Jackson (rhbz
582559)
* Wed Jun  6 2012 Dennis Gilmore  3.4.1-2
- add patch from calxeda to enable the highbank kernel to boot
- on real hardware
* Tue Jun  5 2012 Dennis Gilmore 
- add patch to register omapdrm to the platforms so that we get
- working console framebuffer and X on panda and beagle boards
* Tue Jun  5 2012 Peter Robinson 
- Update ARM config options for 3.4
- Enable MTD/UBI/JFFS2 on ARM platforms
* Mon Jun  4 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]> 3.4.1-1
- Linux v3.4.1
* Mon Jun  4 2012 Dave Jones 
- Disable 32bit NX emulation.
* Sat Jun  2 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]> 3.4.0-1
- Linux 3.4
- Stable queue updates
* Wed May 30 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- CVE-2012-2390 huge pages: memory leak on mmap failure (rhbz 824352
824345)
* Fri May 25 2012 Mauro	Carvalho Chehab	
- Don't	manually customise tuners/frontends (rhbz 825203)
* Thu May 24 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- CVE-2012-2372 mm: 32bit PAE pmd walk vs populate SMP race (rhbz 822821
822825)
* Wed May 23 2012 Adam Jackson 
- drm-i915-lvds-dual-channel.patch: Scrape dual-channel-ness for LVDS out
  of the VBT, rather than just making things up. (#819343)
* Mon May 21 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]> 3.3.7-1
- Linux 3.3.7
- Disable CONFIG_RELOCATABLE for 32bit builds. Turn back on for 3.4
* Fri May 18 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Additional fixes for CVE-2011-4131 (rhbz 822874 822869)
* Thu May 17 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Fix rtlwifi async firmware load race condition (rhbz 822120)
- Enable cpu_idle drivers for ppc64/pseries (requested by Ben
Herrenschmidt)
* Wed May 16 2012 Dennis Gilmore 
- set arch for arm kernel to VEXPRESS allows v7 emulation
- enable SMP everywhere but disable on kirkwood as its up only
* Wed May 16 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]> 3.3.6-3
- fix rtl8187: ->brightness_set can not sleep (rhbz 795176)
* Wed May 16 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Update the vgaarb patches to pick up a small switcheroo fix from airlied
* Tue May 15 2012 Dennis Gilmore 
- add patch to setup usb correctly on beagleboards
- allows networking to work
* Tue May 15 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Fixup atl1c register programming (rhbz 749276)
* Mon May 14 2012 Justin M. Forbes <[email protected]> 3.3.6-1
- Linux 3.3.6
* Mon May 14 2012 Josh Boyer <[email protected]>
- Enable DRM_VIA again per Adam Jackson
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
References:

  [ 1 ] Bug #868285 - CVE-2012-4530 kernel: stack disclosure in
binfmt_script load_script()
        https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=868285
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This update can be installed with the "yum" update program.  Use 
su -c 'yum update kernel' at the command line.
For more information, refer to "Managing Software with yum",
available at http://docs.fedoraproject.org/yum/.

All packages are signed with the Fedora Project GPG key.  More details on
the
GPG keys used by the Fedora Project can be found at
https://fedoraproject.org/keys
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
_______________________________________________
package-announce mailing list
[email protected]
https://admin.fedoraproject.org/mailman/listinfo/package-announce
 
CD: 4ms