Features Download
From: Andrew Kennedy <akenn <at> microsoft.com>
Subject: 2nd CFP: TLDI 2010
Newsgroups: gmane.comp.lang.haskell.general
Date: Monday 21st September 2009 10:29:53 UTC (over 8 years ago)

                *** Second Call for Papers ***

             The Fifth ACM SIGPLAN Workshop on
          Types in Language Design and Implementation

              Madrid, Spain, January 23, 2010
                (Co-located with POPL 2010)


                Submission Deadline: 5 October 2009

The role of types and proofs in all aspects of language design, compiler
construction, and software development has expanded greatly in recent
years. Type systems, type-based analyses and type-theoretic deductive
systems have been central to advances in compilation techniques for modern
programming languages, verification of safety and security properties of
programs, program transformation and optimization, and many other areas.
The ACM SIGPLAN Workshop on Types in Language Design and Implementation
brings researchers together to share new ideas and results concerning all
aspects of types and programming, and is now an annual event. TLDI 2010 is
the fifth workshop in the series and will be co-located with POPL in
Madrid, Spain in January 2010.

Submissions for TLDI 2010 are invited on all interactions of types with
language design, implementation, and programming methodology. This includes
both practical applications and theoretical aspects. TLDI 2010 specifically
encourages papers from a broad field of programming language and compiler
researchers, including those working on object-oriented, dynamically-typed
or late-bound languages, systems programming, mobile-code or security, as
well as traditional fully-static type systems. Topics of interest include:

   * Typed intermediate languages and type-directed compilation
   * Type-based language support for safety and security
   * Types for interoperability
   * Type systems for system programming languages
   * Type-based program analysis, transformation, and optimization
   * Dependent types and type-based proof assistants
   * Types for security protocols, concurrency, and distributed computing
   * Type inference and type reconstruction
   * Type-based specifications of data structures and program invariants
   * Type-based memory management
   * Proof-carrying code and certifying compilation
   * Types and objects

This is not meant to be an exhaustive list; papers on novel utilizations of
type information are welcome. Authors concerned about the suitability of a
topic are encouraged to inquire via electronic mail to the program chair
prior to submission.

Submission Guidelines:

Authors should submit a full paper of no more than 12 pages (including
bibliography and appendices) by Monday 5th October, 2009. The submission
deadline and length limitations are firm. Submissions that do not meet
these guidelines will not be considered.

All submissions should be in standard ACM SIGPLAN conference format:
two columns, nine-point font on a ten-point baseline. Detailed formatting
guidelines are available on the SIGPLAN Author Information page, along with
a LaTeX class file and template.

Papers must be submitted electronically via the conference website in Adobe
Portable Document Format (PDF) and must be formatted for US Letter size
(8.5"x11") paper. Authors for whom this is a hardship should contact the
program chair before the deadline.

Submitted papers must adhere to the SIGPLAN Republication Policy.
Submissions should contain original research not published or submitted for
publication elsewhere.

Important Dates:

- Submission of papers: 5 October 2009 (Monday)
- Notification:         6 November 2009 (Friday)
- Final versions due:  15 November 2009 (Sunday)
- Workshop:            23 January 2010 (Saturday)

General Chair:

  Andrew Kennedy, Microsoft Research, UK

Program Chair:

  Nick Benton, Microsoft Research, UK

Program Committee:

  Gilles Barthe, IMDEA Software, Spain
  Viviana Bono, University of Torino, Italy
  Giorgio Ghelli, University of Pisa, Italy
  Dan Grossman, University of Washington, USA
  Atsushi Igarashi, Kyoto University, Japan
  Conor McBride, University of Strathclyde, UK
  Jeremy Siek, University of Colorado at Boulder, USA
  Zhong Shao, Yale University, USA
  Matthieu Sozeau, Harvard University, USA
  Chris Stone, Harvey Mudd College, USA
  Kristian Støvring, ITU Copenhagen, Denmark

Steering Committee:

  Amal Ahmed, Indiana University, USA
  Craig Chambers, University of Washington, USA
  Robert Harper, Carnegie Mellon University, USA (Chair)
  Xavier Leroy, INRIA Paris-Rocquencourt, France
  Greg Morrisett, Harvard University, USA
  George Necula, Rinera Networks and UC Berkeley, USA
  Atsushi Ohori, Tohoku University, Japan
  Francois Pottier, INRIA Paris-Rocquencourt, France
  Zhong Shao, Yale University, USA
CD: 4ms